Health and Social Care

This is a Sixth Form course only

  • Teaching Staff

    Mrs C Clarkson – Teacher of Child Development / Health and Social Care

  • Health & Social Care @ Key Stage 5

    ‘A’ Level Health and Social Care Exam board OCR

    There are three mandatory units covered for AS Level.

    AS Level Units:

    • Unit 1 – Promoting Quality Care (examination)
    • Unit 2 – Communication in Care Settings (portfolio)
    • Unit 3 – Promoting Good Health (portfolio)

    There are three mandatory units covered for A2 Level.

    A2 Units

    • Unit 10 – Care Practice and Provision (portfolio)
    • Unit 11 – Understanding Human Behaviour (examination)
    • Unit 13 – Child Development (portfolio)

    The course is suitable for students who wish to enter caring professions, such as nursing, social work and a wide range of future university courses and careers. It particularly suits those who enjoy ‘coursework style’ assessment: two thirds of the course is assessed this way with the other third from exams. All students do a work placement in the first term of year 12 where they learn to apply the knowledge learnt into the portfolio and examination work.